Though it Not be Love….

Yet not love but alike to such

How such a friendship began I would not

Have preferred than to begin as love

And last as strong

Yet not love but alike to such

When in one week of knowing her

I writ my greatest words and strung my most joyful play

As in the worlds of a wiser poet did writ

“Love always makes those eloquent that have it.”

Yet not love but alike to such

Whilst faith, proud faith, we have at last

An element that ne’er struck us when we were cast

Our love, not love, but delight as much

In yonder years we ne’er did touch

But when I left thee, life was kind

And comfort of the sun when thou sight were blind

Such vow of silence you kept to not detain

Me from my quest nor add to my train

Yet in silence, love heard most loud

A love that I still hold so proud

Yet not love but alike to such

THOUGH IT NOT BE LOVE

Leave a Reply

