I Fear the Breaking Dawn

I fear the breaking dawn
Apollo’s steeds that already shake their manes
I hear a distant neighing over the horizon
Ushering a new day
“Zeus, what more in Fate’s decree
Have you left to punish me?”
My toil is too severe
Give me the stillness of black night
The womb of day
That I may wrap the blanket
Of stars around my shoulders
And know peace a little longer
Hold off the harangues of day
I fear that breaking dawn
Driven by Apollo’s steeds
Will usher in new woe.
The flower rises
Its glowing petals
Paint the sky

@JamesRoyBlairA
FACEBOOK

Fear

Leave a Reply

