HELPLESS HERO

I wish I knew from what region
That hand halted my course
And left me on this isle,
Forcing me to stop track-dead,
Nor was the halt free from pain
Nor spared the oceans terrible
In my wave-wracked ship
What god it was that flung me here
In my path miswandered?
One who works in contradiction?
Pain to spare from some worser pain?
The gods foresee events we
Cannot know nor change.
Prudent force? A pain for fairer days?
So it was that Neoptolemus had
Be a blackguard for a day
To live the rest of his days a hero.
Some god is in my path and
Reigns my command with more
Control than I.
Two nights ago
I was spared from burning death
In my camp, awoken by some
Nightly call and arose to burning
Smells.
In time I arose to kill
The sprouting flames and
Spare myself of a young death.
And now I lie, slave-like, hostage
To this isle until strength regains.
What god is it that follows me.
Like Athene followed Odysseus.
Working within the events that
Lead him home safe to Ithaca.
What god it was that flung me here?
A god who works in events we
Cannot know nor change.

HELPLESS

Leave a Reply

